© University of the Philippines Model United Nations

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six major organs of the United Nations which is comprised of 15 member- states – five of which are permanent  members namely the United States of America, France, China, the United Kingdom, and The Russian Federation. The remaining non-permanent seats are elected for a two-year term by the UN General Assembly.


The mandate and primary responsibilities of UNSC as laid out by Chapter V of the UN Charter are (1) to maintain international peace and security; (2) to develop friendly relations among nations; (3) to cooperate in solving international problems and in promoting respect for human rights; and (4) to be a center for harmonizing the actions of nations.

Chair: Eunhyzz Muñoz
Vice Chair: Jules Toledo 

Topic Areas:

A. Addressing the Hamas Resistance in the Gaza Strip

B. Combating the Recruitment and Spread of Terrorist Groups in Africa